Knotweed Records 019

Out Now On Vinyl – Knotweed Records 019

Artists: Benales/Opuswerk/Gonzalo MD/Philippe Petit
Label: Knotweed Records
Title: Tales from the Dark Side E.P.
Catalogue: KW019
Format: 12″ Vinyl
Release Date: 6 May 2016
Distribution: 712 Distribution (Berlin)

A1: Benales – Radiate
A2: Opuswerk – Displacements
B1: Gonzalo MD – Sharp Osciallation
B2: Philippe Petit – Indian Summer

Benales opens the E.P. with Radiate, a track where you can clearly hear his influences of the American school of 90s minimal techno. Long time DJ but new on the production side, this is Benales’ first effort on vinyl.

After his initial masterpiece on Knotweed Records (KW006) and a handful of releases on Demented (Hiss 1992) and Krill, Opuswerk is back on Knotweed with Displacement, a trippy, hard hitting, analogic techno attack: no concession on this one!

Gonzalo MD has already delivered the goods on both Knotweed (KW004 and KW011) and Decision Making Theory (DMT 006), as well as a fantastic EP recently on Extrasolar. Here, with Sharp Oscillation, he keeps developing his unique style, producing a highly percussive, almost samba-like, piece of techno.

Label owner Philippe Petit closes the E.P. with Indian Summer, a track moving along a warm bassline, bearing some recognisable krautrock influences.

Played and supported by: Marcel Dettmann, Dj Pete, Zadig, Norman Nodge, Dj Deep, Answer Code Request, Anthony Parasole, Henning Baer, Samuli Kemppi, Developer, Kr!z, Audio Injection/Truncate, Electric Indigo, Freddy K, Rebekah, I/Y, Pfirter, Milton Bradley, Fabrizio Lapiana, Emmanuel Top, SHDW, Francois X, Jeroen Search, Alex.Do, Juho Kusti, PVS, Thomas Hessler, NX1, Unbalance, Anastasia Kristensen, Mary Velo, Material Object, Vincent Neumann, Aiken and more.